Skip to main content

The Nation's First Approved Defensive Boating Course

Get back on the water fast!

Have You Received a Boating Citation?

Florida law requires that anyone convicted of a criminal boating violation or an infraction that resulted in a reportable boating accident must enroll in, attend, and successfully complete an approved safe boating course for violators.

About the Course

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission has partnered with Boat Ed, the leader in boater safety education, to offer the nation’s first approved defensive boating course.

  • Required in addition to completion of a classroom or online boating education course
  • Court-approved course
  • Simple registration process
  • No hidden fees! $49.95 for course, exam, and certificate
  • Instant completion results
  • Online certificate processing


If you have questions about the disposition of your conviction or requirements, contact your County Court Clerk’s office.

No Boating Citation?

Then you are eligible to take the Boat Florida Course.

Florida Frequently Asked Questions

Price and Payment

How much does the Florida Boating Violators cost?

The Florida Boating Violators fee is $49.95.

Taking the Course

Do I have to complete the course all at once?

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or completed a little at a time over several days. All pay-up-front courses are available for 90 days from time of registration and payment.

What is the minimum age to take the Florida Boating Violators?

There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.

Do I have to be a resident to take the Florida Boating Violators?

You do not have to be a resident of Florida to take this online course.

Course Approval and Acceptance

Is the Florida Safe Boating Course for Violators approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission?

The Florida Safe Boating Course for Violators is approved and accepted by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.

Quizzes and/or Exams

I failed a unit quiz. Have I failed the course?

If you fail a unit quiz, you must restudy the unit and take the quiz again until you pass. You must score at least 70% on the unit quizzes to pass.

Do I have to take an online exam?

The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the Certification Exam to pass. You have 3 attempts to pass the Certification Exam. If you do not pass the exam in the 3 attempts given, you will be required to repeat the entire course. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.

About Your Certification

What is the proof of online Florida Safe Boating Course for Violators completion?

Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Course Completion Certificate. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Course Completion Certificate right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you. This certificate EXPIRES 90 days after course completion.

We’re people, not robots.

Visit our Boat Ed help center for frequently asked questions, troubleshooting, or for further customer support!

Boat Ed Help Center

Members of the Kalkomey Support Team